About Us


Mission Statement

The Vermont Autism Task Force (VATF) seeks to improve relevant policy and service delivery to promote best practices and the inclusion of people on the autism spectrum in communities across the state of Vermont. The VATF advocates for people on the spectrum and their families by sharing information to facilitate connections to existing resources.

2019-20 Vermont Autism Task Force Members

Philip Eller

Pascal Cheng

Sue MacMartin

Kasi Stockman

Emily Asenath-Smith

Matt Habedank

Carolyn Crowley

Matt Keister

Jim Murphy

Cherise Madigan

Arthur R. Trevino

Goals for 2019-20

  1. Improved and expanded use of social media for advocacy and information.
  2. To participate and/or have a presence at disability-related workshops and conferences, rather than facilitating an Autism Awareness Day at the State House.
  3. Monitor state-wide planning groups (Census-Based Funding Work Group re: Act 173, Special Education Advisory Group, and the AHS Autism Work Group) and provide advocacy to these groups for the Autism community.
  4. Address the training and standards presently given to educational professionals (paraprofessionals, regular classroom teachers, and special educators), who work with individuals on the spectrum in Vermont.  Special emphasis will look at how autism presents differently in girls than boys.
  5. Attend, articulate, and advocate for the autism community in schools, through public hearings around the state (due to Act 173), especially for changes in the adverse effect step of eligibility for special education services.

Meeting Information

The VATF year begins with a day-long annual retreat in early September, when plans of action are made for the coming year.  Subcommittees may be formed to address specific priorities.  Meetings are then held regularly through May, often in Burlington or central Vermont.

All VATF meetings are open to the public and potential members are invited to sit in on these proceedings.